Sunday, November 25, 2012

Lisa Germano ‎- Happiness (1994)

This is the 4AD reissue of this album, remixed and with a different tracklist from the original release on Capitol Records in 1993. I'd love to hear the original release if anyone can share a copy... Thank you very much to the kind reader who has emailed me a copy of the original version of this album :)

Artist: Lisa Germano
Title: Happiness
Format: CD album
Label: 4AD
Cat. Num.: CAD 4005 CD
Year: 1994


01: Bad Attitude
02: Destroy The Flower
03: Puppet
04: Everyone's Victim
05: Energy
06: Cowboy
07: Happiness
08: The Earth
09: Around The World
10: Sycophant
11: Miamo-Tutti
12: The Dresses Song
13: The Darkest Night Of All


MP3 / EAC-FLAC (password: pyrolysebred)


  1. Holy cow, that video makes *me* wanna wear dresses, and I'm like, this fat balding old guy! :D lol

  2. Just thought I'd note that, as far as I understand, the Capitol release of Happiness was not, in fact, remixed -- Lisa has said as much on her site and in public (she said it's a common rumor that the Capitol release contains different mixes but it's not true).

    I have heard the Capitol version and I can confirm this is the case, though it's true that I wasn't exactly listening for differences -- but from my general listen to the entire album, it sounds exactly the same.

    On the other hand, it is true that the Capitol release contains one track unreleased anywhere else -- her cover of These Boots Are Made for Walking, which she hates but which I think is super -- and one track that was eventually released on her "Rare, Unusual or Just Bad Songs" compilation -- Breathe Across Texas.

    But other than that, the Capitol job is identical to this 4AD version.

    Four of the songs off Happiness were remixed for the Inconsiderate Bitch EP, which might lend to the confusion here.

    Sorry for the long comment! Just thought I'd share that. :)

    1. Thanks for taking the time to write all these info :)

      It was on 4AD's website that I read that the reissue had remixed tracks (here:

      Tbh it's the video version of "You Make Me Want to Wear Dresses" that I'd like to have on CD. I'm wondering if the Capitol release has that version of the song or yet another recording of it. Timing is 3'12" for the Capitol release and 3'40" for the 4AD one, so they're clearly different.

    2. I think you're right! I'm wrong with at least that song. I'm to used to the version on the 4AD release that I had sort of forgotten about the much happier one that accompanies the music video.

      Perhaps I'll try to track the Capitol release down and compare. ;)

    3. Hopefully someone who owns the Capitol release will read this and share so we can compare both versions of that album. If you get a copy of it let me know.

  3. Happiness (Capitol)

    Inconsiderate Bitch


Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.